2016 Board of Directors

Click here to download complete Board list.



Makese Motley, President


Mr. Motley is Assistant Director of Federal Relations for the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU), a Washington-based higher education association of more than 400 public colleges, universities and systems whose members share a learning- and teaching-centered culture, a historic commitment to underserved student populations and a dedication to research and creativity that advances their regions’ economic progress and cultural development. AASCU institutions enroll nearly 4 million students.


Jocelyn Bissonnette, Vice-President
National Association of Federally Impacted Schools

Jeff Carter, Treasurer
National Coalition for Literacy

Noelle Ellerson, Past President
AASA, the School Superintendents Association

Ally Bernstein
International Society for Technology in Education

Sarah Cohen
American Federation of Teachers

Eileen Dombrowski
Easter Seals

Roxanne Garza
Citizen Schools

Jim Gelb
California State University

Kimberly Jones
Council for Opportunity in Education

Cyndy Littlefield
Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities

Kuna Tavalin
Washington Partners

Guila Todd
American Counseling Association

Corey Williams
National Education Association

Megan Wolfe

Josh Westfall
National PTA

When Our Students Succeed, Our Nation Succeeds.

Founded in 1969, the Committee for Education Funding (CEF) and its 117 member organizations have worked toward the common goal of achieving adequate federal support for our nation's education system. Nonpartisan and nonprofit, CEF is America's largest education coalition, reflecting the broad spectrum of the education community.